The New Wine Levels in the European Union: Understanding Quality and Origin

What are the three new wine levels created for the EU?

a) EU Wine, Select Wine, Premium Wine
b) Entry-Level Wine, Standard Wine, Premium Wine
c) Table Wine, Quality Wine, Premium Wine
d) Basic Wine, Standard Wine, Elite Wine


The EU categorizes wine primarily into Protected Designation of Origin (PDO), further divided into Quality Wines Produced in Specified Regions (QWpsr) and Protected Geographical Indication (PGI), and Table Wine. The options provided in the question do not accurately reflect the current wine classification system as set by the EU. It is important to distinguish between these levels to understand quality and origin.

The three new wine levels created for the European Union (EU) are not exactly as listed in the options provided by the question. The EU wine regulation categorizes wine into two main quality levels:

Protected Designation of Origin (PDO):

This category is for wines produced in a specific region, using particular grape varieties and adhering to strict production methods. It is further sub-divided into two - Quality Wines Produced in Specified Regions (QWpsr), known in many countries as Denominazione di Origine Controllata (DOC), Denominazione di Origine Controllata e Garantita (DOCG), Appellation d'Origine Contrôlée (AOC), etc., and secondly, Protected Geographical Indication (PGI), known as Indicazione Geografica Tipica (IGT) in Italy, Vin de Pays in France, and so on.

Table Wine:

This includes wines that do not meet the strict criteria of PDO wines and are often labeled as Table Wine in many EU countries. This category is less regulated.

It's important to note that the traditional terms 'Table Wine' and 'Quality Wine' have evolved, with changes to the classifications and terminology following reforms to the Common Agricultural Policy for wine. The previous system included 'Table Wine' and 'Quality Wine Produced in a Specific Region' (QWpsr), but the current system has been updated. Unfortunately, none of the provided options accurately represent the current EU wine classification system.

← Checks and balances in the u s system of government How to use the judas technique for wildlife management →